‘Affairs of the heart’+Modern view of poetry

Hello, Hola, Ciao, bonjour! Fiona is back into the world of blogging again. In my last post I looked at why we turn to poetry and Elizabethan Poetry, if you want to go read it check it out 👉 here 👈. In class this week we looked at ‘Affairs of the heart’ ❤️ (Love and hate poetry). Poems such as, Sonnet 18, Sonnet 130 and excerpts from Romeo and Juliet, these were all by Shakespeare. We also looked at, ‘A Red Red Rose’ by Robert Burns and ‘She Walks in Beauty’ by Lord Byron. I would have to say that ‘She Walks in Beauty’ is one of my favourites, it is just so beautiful!(haha) 😍

artistic blossom bright clouds

Photo by Pixabay on Pexels.com

Falling in and out of love is something a lot of people have experienced and people often turn to poetry during this time. I think this is because poetry is a great way to share these emotions and get them out onto paper. I don’t know about you but I find poetry helpful to share my emotions.

Fill out the form below!👇 Tell me what you like most about poetry.

 

 

A lot of poets these days share their poems in different or alternate ways and some stick to using the old styles and example of this is the sonnet. American poet Jane Hirshfield  wrote this 14 lined poem that the relaxed or ‘ghost’ structure of a sonnet. I absolutely love it!!!!! What do you think? Let me know in the comments below.

A Chair in Snow

BY JANE HIRSHFIELD
A chair in snow
should be
like any other object whited
& rounded
and yet a chair in snow is always sad
more than a bed
more than a hat or house
a chair is shaped for just one thing
to hold
a soul its quick and few bendable
hours
perhaps a king
not to hold snow
not to hold flowers
~ ~ ~
It is an interesting poem but that is what I love about it. I feel like I am drawn to poems that don’t have a solid meaning because it is about how you interpret them.
~ ~ ~
My teacher told us about a poet called Rupi Kaur, who started by sharing her poems on Instagram and she soon became famous. I read some of her poems and really enjoyed them. This is my favourite.
CD908F57-A434-45A0-ADF6-1EC5E70B4AA3
Short and simple but I Looooove it. Short poems are my favourite, if I ever became a poet I would choose to write like that. 😀
shallow focus photography of yellow sunflower field under sunny sky

Photo by Susanne Jutzeler on Pexels.com

I enjoyed writing this post and I hope that you enjoyed reading it.
Adios Amigos,
Fiona xo 😘

Leave a comment